General Introduction to the Parish.

St Mary’s Parish Great Yarmouth is presently made up of four worshipping communities, they are Acle, Caister, St Peter’s Gorleston and St Mary’s. The communities are served with a weekend Mass at each place every week and the individual congregations are very committed to their place of worship and their local community.

St Mary’s was founded in 1850 by priests from the Society of Jesus, the Jesuits. They built the Church and worked in Great Yarmouth until 1962 when the care of the parish was handed to the Diocese of Northampton.

The parish was later served by the Augustinian Friars from 1972 to 1995 and by the clergy of the Diocese of East Anglia from 1995 to the present day. For over 100 years the community was also served by the Sisters of St Louis who taught in St Louis and St Mary’s schools. St Louis school closed some years ago and St Mary’s relocated to Gorleston where they have a much larger site with playing fields.

Much more about the history of the parish and the Church can be found in a booklet in the Church and elsewhere on this website.


ol yar 001

Diocese of East Anglia

eastangliaThe Parish of St Mary’s is one of 55 parishes that make up the Diocese of East Anglia (within the counties of Norfolk, Suffolk and Cambridgeshire together with the Unitary Authority of Peterborough).  Each Diocese is led by the bishop, as head of the local Church.  The Diocesan Website can be accessed here.



Design a Logo for St Mary's Church

Design a Logo competition

Open to all, join the competition to design a New Logo for St. Mary's Church.

details can be found here Good luck!

St Mary's First Holy Communion 2019

2019 FHC 132

 Click Here for First Holy Communion Photographs.



St Peter's First Holy Communion 2018


 Click Here for First Holy Communion Photographs.



Confirmation 2018

28261851188 b11b6e487e z

Click here for Confirmation Photos 2018



Altar Re-dedication 31 May 2018


 Click Here for Photographs of the Re-dedication of the church.




pope frances1rsThe See of Rome has special significance as the place of martyrdom of the Apostles Peter and Paul. The Pope (bishop of Rome) is regarded as the successor of St Peter.

The Catholic Church is made up of all the dioceses that are in communion with the Holy Father.
Access to the Vatican website of Pope Francis can be gained here.

St. Ignatius, Caister. First Holy Communion 5 June 2016

Go to top